boroughsealMAT-SU—The New Year will ring in more than a calendar change. For the first time in 42 years, residents inside the Matanuska-Susitna Borough boundaries can shoot off fireworks legally on New Year’s Eve.

The allowable timeframe: 6 p.m. until 1 a.m.

Former Borough Assembly Member Pete Houston of Palmer sponsored the change to Borough code before he left office this year.


There are some restricted areas where the use of fireworks are not allowed:

•  Within 1,250 feet of any health care facility or assisted living space, library, school, or place of worship

•  Within 500 feet of any gas station or business where flammable fuels are stored

•  Within any structure or vehicle.


The prohibition of fireworks began in the Borough in 1969 with the approval of then Borough Chairman Robert Vroman and then Assembly President Mary E. Martin.


The new repeal of the prohibition is only for New Year’s Eve. The fire threat is slim in winter. Previously fines were up to $500. However, be courteous to your neighbors and environment. When 1 a.m. arrives, put the fireworks away and pick up your garbage.


If you enjoy fireworks this season, please realize injuries can be serious if accidents occur. Be cautious:

  • Always follow the directions
  • Have a sober adult present, given it is a night of celebration
  • Never point or throw fireworks at another person or an animal
  • Do not carry them in your pockets,
  • Keep water close



Rules for the cities of Palmer, Wasilla and Houston are different. This ordinance is for Borough limits outside the cities.


For more information call Code Compliance at 907. 745-9853.


©2013 Matanuska-Susitna Borough
For questions or comments about the Borough,
or Borough Services, call (907)861-7801

For website issues contact the IT Helpdesk

Matanuska-Susitna Borough
350 E. Dahlia Ave.
Palmer, Ak 99645
Hours of Operation: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM