Matanuska-Susitna Borough

Marijuana Advisory Committee

The MAC was established by Assembly Resolution Serial No. 15-007, with the intent to sunset on June 30, 2018. The MAC accomplished their mission of advising the Assembly on code for marijuana related facilities prior to the sunset date. With Assembly Resolution Serial No. 17-086, the Assembly provided for an early sunset date of December 19, 2017.

 The Marijuana Advisory Committee (MAC) was comprised of the 17 following seats:

  • 1 - potentially interested marijuana grower
  • 1 - non-marijuana farming operation
  • 1 - potentially interested marijuana retailer
  • 1 - from the financial community
  • 1 - from a local business organization such as a chamber of commerce
  • 1 - from law enforcement
  • 1 - from the health community
  • 1 - from the education community
  • 1 - with planning and zoning experience
  • 1 - from sales, marketing, advertising experience
  • 3 - citizens of the Borough who do not live within city limits
  • 1 - representing the city government of Houston
  • 1 - representing the city government of Palmer
  • 1 - representing the city government of Wasilla
  • 1 - representing the Borough at the department director level or equivalent

The MAC was created to advise the Assembly on any and all impacts of the implementation of Alaska Statute 17.38.

There were also created an equal number of alternate seats.  Each regular member and each alternate were partnered so that if the regular member was unable to attend, that they called the alternate and had them attend in their place.


Marijuana facility related questions should be directed to the Borough's Development Services Division at:



Agendas, Packets & Minutes

There are currently no meetings created for this board.